Area Science Park
Ricerca avanzata
Integrated training and coaching programme tailored for towns and cities helps them plan sustainable mobility in their territories 

BUMP: an opportunity for local authorities to improve their mobility planning skills

28.11.2013 -

Sustainable mobility is a priority for local authorities around the EU, facing the common challenge to curb pollution and reduce transport-related energy consumption. One of the tools to achieve these goals is planning in the long term through a 'SUMP' (Sustainable Urban Mobility Plan), setting objectives and identifying actions and measures to achieve them. The IEE project 'BUMP - Boosting Urban Mobility Plans' - coordinated by AREA Science Park of Trieste (Italy) - helps local authorities structure efficient, tailored plans for their territories.


BUMP offers an integrated package, targeted at city planners, environmental and technical officers called to plan and manage sustainable mobility in urban and peri-urban contexts in towns and cities with populations ranging from 40.000 to 350.000 inhabitants.


The package entails tailored training, sharing of know-how, national and international expertise, multi-sector professional help and advice to produce the SUMPs, promotion of the involved towns and cities and their territories. The work-programme is subdivided into 2 main stages: the first envisages national training sessions in the 9 involved countries, with lectures held by experts with proven track-records and know-how exchange among participants; the second offers the most committed participating local authorities the opportunity to benefit from a dedicated coaching programme to develop their SUMPs with the help of a panel of experts.


Participation in project activities and all training materials are free of charge for the local authorities selected for participation and the project will part-fund the participants' travel, subsistence and accommodation costs.  BUMP is funded by the European Commission through the Intelligent energy Europe Programme of the European Commission and involves 9 countries (Italy, United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Romania, Bulgaria, Poland, Czech Republic, Hungary).

For more information: